RSS

Sponsors Secured

07 Mar

Finally after a year and a half of searching for sponsors, waking up on some mornings with this gnawing feeling at the pit of my gut, not knowing if I would be able to carry on with my next climb due to the lack of finances, my prayers have finally been answered.

Cerebos (aka. Cerebos Pacific Limited) with their flagship product, BRAND’S(r) Essence of Chicken, have come forward to be my EVEREST TITLE SPONSOR. It was as though a miracle had happened when they tracked me down through this blogsite on google and requested if we could have a partnership. Of course, I immediately said yes.

Cerebos and myself are working together at the moment to see how we can benefit each other. They will be helping me out by fully supporting the finances for my Everest expedition.

Cerebos will also assist me with the medical clinic in Phortse and the school in Gorkha, Nepal which I will be helping out after my Everest climb. Cerebos has also managed to get me the endorsement and support of the Consulate General of Nepal in Singapore for this expedition.

One month can mean so much of changes and this month has been no exception to me. What I update my friends on one day can become obsolete news the next day. There has been just so much running around especially with the clinic and the school coming into the picture as well. The media has suddenly been very excited about my climb especially so due to the close proximity of my final climb. Everyday has been filled with replying to endless strings of emails, trying to get my accounts sorted, running around the country collecting sponsored medical equipment, coordinating plans with my Nepalese counterparts since I will be going to Nepal alone and meeting up one last time with friends.

A word about my other sponsors without whom, my expeditions so far would not have come true. Gayatri Restaurant’s owner Mr Shanmugan has come forward to become my GOLD sponsor. He is organizing a biennial golf tournament called ‘Fish Head Masters’ with the proceeds supporting my climb and the excess going to charity. Trailblazzers foundation another of my BRONZE sponsor. Tamil Murasu is now my OFFICIAL MEDIA and Gym 360 is my OFFICIAL FITNESS CONSULTANT. You can see the full list of sponsors here.

I have also set up a give.sg page to raise funds for my TTSH community charity fund while I am climbing the Everest. Please go to https://www.give.sg/TeamGIVE/Kumaran to give! I’m trying to hit a certain target each time I reach a certain camp. For example, when I manage to climb to Camp 1, I hope that donors would feel motivated by my progress such that they donate more and together we can hit a sum of $x. I’m still in the process of fine tuning this.

My departure date 11th March is looming near and there’s still tonnes of work left to be done. Hope that I’m able to complete things one at a time and still have some time to squeeze some trainings in between. EVEREST! My friends tell me not to Ever Rest there while climbing and I know my family yearns for me to come back in one piece and not to Rest Forever there. Getting more nervous as the days draw closer. 3 months away is no joke. So much luggage to pack. > 60kgs of it and I’m still shipping some more stuff over. Things have fallen in place so far and I pray that they will stay in place all the way. I’ll post a last entry before I leave soon.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Sponsors Secured

  1. Andreas Dewanto

    March 8, 2012 at 6:08 am

    All the best for the climb, bro 🙂

     
  2. jeremytongclimbs

    March 11, 2012 at 5:09 am

    Hi Kumaran,

    Wish you all the best… please check out my blog. I’m also a climber but I’ve always been looking for ways to make my climbs possible. Hope you can advise me when you are back. 🙂

    Jeremy

     
  3. Ken

    March 11, 2012 at 9:09 am

    Best of luck KOOLmaran!

     

Leave a Reply

 
