RSS

Off to Argentina and Chilie

30 Dec

Finally the time has come for me to set off for South America – the only continent (other than Antartica) which I haven’t set foot on. It will be an arduous flight journey to Medoza (the city which we will be setting off to Acongacua from). I will be travelling in Malaysian airlines. SIN –> KL –> Cape Town (transit) –> Buenos Ares (transit) –> Mendazo (domestic flight). Altogether this journey from Singapore to Mendoza will take me 33.5 H (25.5 H flying and 8H in transit). Never travelled so extensively before in 1 duration Hopefully I don’t develop blisters on my butt from this.

Training unfortunately this time had to take a stand still during the month of Dec. 1stly, I was working too much to have time to train. 2ndly, there was too much admin stuff to sort out with regards to Everest preparations as well as the medical clinic in Phortse and fund raising. 3rdly, updating my blog and trying to sort out my emails took massive amts of time together with my old computer’s mother board getting blown up. 4thly, I had no one to motivate me to train and accompany me for training. 5thly, I had to meet to meet up with my long lost friends whom I hadn’t met in 6 months. 6thly, whatever reasons you can think of that I might use. I hope that the 1 week intensive training for marathons and the occasional trainings here and there will pull me through the 1st, 2nd and 3rd highest peak in South America. I am putting my hopes most on the previous 3 acclimatisation climbs to Mustagh, Cho Oyu and Ama Dablam to back me up this time on high altitude.

It has been one heck of a journey so far with so many ups and downs and sleepless nights. I think I’m falling sick as well. 2 weddings back to back 2 days before I fly does help much either. I hope everything turns out for the best in the end.

Let me give you a brief introduction on the mountains that I hope to be climbing.

PEAK #1: Aconcagua is the highest mountain in the Americas at 6,962 m. It is located in the Andes mountain range, in the Argentine province of Mendoza and it lies 112 km west by north of its capital, the city of Mendoza. The summit is also located about 5 km from San Juan Province and 15 km from the international border with Chile. Aconcagua is the highest peak in both the Western and Southern Hemispheres. It is one of the Seven Summits.

PEAK #2: Nevado Ojos del Salado is a massive stratovolcano in the Andes on the Argentina-Chile border and the highest volcano in the world at 6,891 m. It is also the second highest mountain in the Western Hemisphere and Southern Hemisphere and the highest in Chile. It is located about 600 km north of Aconcagua.

PEAK #3: Monte Pissis is an extinct volcano in La Rioja Province, Argentina. The mountain is the third-highest in the Western Hemisphere, and is located about 550 km north of Aconcagua. Its elevation is 6,793 m

I have updated my blog on the publications segment. You can have the latest info on the media coverage on me and my climbs at https://climbeverest2012.wordpress.com/publications/ or you could just click on the tab above which says Publications/ Media.

I don’t know the internet connectivity situation over in South America when I’m climbing. Thus I will try my best to update posts now and then. Pls be patient and do continue to follow the blog. Thanks a lot ppl!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
